Research Focus

View towards the entrance to the Faculty of Economic Sciences.
View towards the entrance to the Faculty of Economic Sciences. Photo: Christian Hüller

Since its foundation in 2005, the Institute for Infrastructure and Resource Management (IIRM) has dedicated its research and teaching in particular to the sustainable planning and operation of technical infrastructure systems for the provision of energy, water, wastewater and waste services. Special topics are the interactions of infrastructure provision with economic and demographic developments, the development of planning and management tools as well as technology development in selected areas. Another topic is the sustainable management of resources such as water, soil, land and energy in different institutional contexts. Particular attention is paid to the effectiveness and efficiency of management institutions and specific management instruments at state, municipal or company level.

A rape field in full bloom.
A rape field in full bloom. Photo: COLOURBOX

The Chair of Biodiversity Economics works to provide scientific foundations that help to shape human-nature relationships in a sustainable way. Research focuses on the sustainable use of natural resources (e.g. marine fish stocks, grasslands, forests) and the protection of biodiversity from regional to global levels. For example, we investigate how economic incentives determine people's behaviour towards nature. We also explore what is necessary to achieve sustainability - in the sense of justice in human-nature relations. This also includes the question of how economic policy instruments could contribute to this goal. Our methodological expertise lies in quantitative ecological-economic modelling, dynamic optimisation, statistics, economic experiments and conceptual modelling, and we also use methods from game theory and capital theory. Our research group is widely networked internationally and works in an interdisciplinary way with researchers from the social sciences, humanities and natural sciences.

Learn More

Single rape blossoms.
Single rape blossoms. Photo: COLOURBOX

The focus of the Bioenergy Systems Professorship is on concepts, technologies and management systems for the control of biogenic material and energy systems. Contradictory goals associated with the use of biomass as well as different efficiency aspects (e.g. land use, climate gas savings, energy provision, value creation, etc.) require integrated management systems that can be implemented on different scales, from operational to global. Accordingly, the focus of the research is on linking the fragmentary information available along the process chains towards the development of integrated management systems for the use of biomass in the context of renewable resources.
Against this background, the research programme of the professorship includes methods for the classification of biogenic material and energy flows (system understanding) and the development of approaches for their efficient control, taking into account the technical, economic, ecological and social aspects of the relevant process chains (system design). These questions are researched in particular with the help of the analysis of technical systems (with regard to maturity, cost reduction potential and necessary boundary conditions for successful implementation) and using methods of product-related assessment (LCA) and material flow analysis.

Central research topics:

  • Biomass potentials and sustainability assessment
  • Markets and use of biogenic energy sources
  • Regional utilisation concepts for renewable raw materials
  • Environmental impacts of renewable energies
  • Advanced methods of life cycle analysis and material flow assessment
  • System integration and interaction of renewable energies in supply systems largely based on renewable energies
  • Scenario analyses for renewable raw materials and energy sources

LEARN MORE

Smoking vent and rotating wind turbines
Old energy world, new energy world - how can the energy transition succeed? Photo: COLOURBOX

The research activities of the Chair of Energy Management and Sustainability focus on the integrative analysis of the economic, ecological and social aspects associated with the provision of energy services at the operational, municipal, national, European and/or global level. The generally quantitative analysis of the research questions addressed is carried out using innovative energy system models, energy industry market models, agent-based models and integrated assessment models, which have been developed at the Chair and successfully used in a large number of projects to advise energy industry as well as environmental policy decision-makers.

Central research topics:

  • Techno-economic optimisation of decentralised energy systems, virtual power plants and smart grids
  • Integration of renewable energies into existing and future energy systems with special consideration of energy storage systems, power-to-X (e.g. power-to-heat) and load management measures (demand response)
  • Economic evaluation of energy-related business models (in the context of changing energy-economic boundary conditions)
  • Agent-based modelling of urban energy systems
  • Modelling and economic analysis of the development of European energy markets
  • Calculation of future spot market and balancing energy prices in the European electricity market (using fundamental models)
  • Integrated assessment and optimisation of global climate protection strategies (using so-called "integrated assessment" models)
  • Analysis and design of energy and climate policy instruments (incl. policy impact assessment)

LEARN MORE

View over Leipzig at night.
View over Leipzig at night. Photo: Fotolia

The research programme of the Chair of Economics, in particular Institutional Environmental Economics, is the analysis of environment-related issues with the help of approaches from New Institutional Economics, in particular transaction cost economics, the theory of institutional change, contract and agency theory, the property rights approach, the economic analysis of law, politics and bureaucracy or information economics. In addition, methods of finance and general environmental economics are used alongside methods of agent-based modelling. Application-oriented questions of international water management, environment-related interface problems in the energy, transport and infrastructure sectors as well as climate change issues are dealt with. Special emphasis is placed on institutions and instruments of environmental policy as well as on ecological-economic modelling.

Central research topics:

  • Economics of climate change, especially climate adaptation
  • Economic aspects of the energy transition and the bioeconomy, especially biomass use
  • Charges and prices for water use
  • Agent-based modelling of land use and infrastructure systems
  • Financing of transport infrastructure
  • Fee and charge solutions for municipal supply and disposal (water, wastewater, waste, other sectors)

LEARN MORE

Globe in palm of a hand.
Globe in palm of a hand. Photo: COLOURBOX

The Chair of Environmental Technologies in Water Management and Environmental Management in Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises is dedicated to the resources of water, waste and soil, the sustainable and safe operation of pipe systems and environmental management in individual companies and company networks. Fundamental is an interdisciplinary approach that links technical and economic aspects. Approaches from various theoretical fields are used to address the research topics, depending on the issue at hand. Elements of social science approaches such as institutional analysis, business management approaches such as decision theory, overarching approaches such as systems theory and technological innovation models are used.

Central research topics:

  • Cost factors and evaluation of municipal water, wastewater and waste infrastructure
  • Sustainability risks of municipal environmental infrastructure
  • Change management for municipal environmental infrastructure in relation to climate, demography, urban redevelopment and economic structural change
  • Development paths of decentralised technologies and embedding in existing framework conditions
  • Environmental risks and safety of technical facilities and modes of operation
  • Environmental and sustainability management in networks

LEARN MORE

Wind turbines in the landscape.
Wind turbines in the landscape. Photo: MultiplEE

Our research focuses on the economic analysis of energy transition policy at national and international level. Our research activities are embedded, among other things, in the junior research group MultiplEE.

The expansion of renewable energies in the electricity sector is essential to achieve Germany's climate protection goals and to advance the energy transition. However, the restructuring of the electricity system also brings (new) challenges. We are investigating how the expansion of renewable energies, and wind energy in particular, can be designed to be as environmentally compatible as possible with respect for people, nature and the landscape.

LEARN MORE

Degree programmes

Institute building of the Faculty of Economics.
Hand zeigt mit einem Kugelschreiber auf eine Grafik
High voltage line.
Das Wort „sustainable“ in Kreideschrift auf Tafel

Donors

The Chair of Bioenergy Systems was endowed by the DBFZ (Deutsches Biomasseforschungszentrum) together with the Helmholz-Center for Environmental Research GmbH (UFZ). The holder of the professorship is Prof. Dr.-Ing. Daniela Thrän, who is also Head of the Bioenergy Systems Department at the DBFZ and Head of the Bioenergy Department at the UFZ.

The Chair of Environmental Technologies and Management was endowed by the DBU (Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt). The first holder was Prof. Dr.-Ing. Robert Holländer in 2001, who retired in March 2019. The professorship will be advertised again.

The Chair of Biodiversity Economics was funded by the DFG (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft) in cooperation with the German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research (iDiv) and the Helmholtz-Center for Environmental Research GmbH (UFZ). Prof. Dr. Martin Quaas holds the professorship and is also research group leader at the iDiv.

The professorship in Biodiversity Economics was funded by the DFG (Deutsche Forschungsmeieinschaft) in cooperation with the German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research (iDiv) and the Helmholtz-Center for Environmental Research GmbH (UFZ). Prof. Dr. Martin Quaas holds the professorship and is also research group leader at the iDiv.

The first professorship endowed by the Helmholz-Center for Environmental Research GmbH (UFZ) was the Professorship of Economics, in particular Institutional Environmental Economics, whose holder, Prof. Dr. Erik Gawel, is also Head of the Department of Economics at the UFZ.


The Chair of Bioenergy Systems was endowed by the Helmholz-Centre for Environmental Research GmbH (UFZ) together with the DBFZ (Deutsches Biomasseforschungszentrum). The holder of the professorship is Prof. Dr.-Ing. Daniela Thrän, who is also Head of the Department of Bioenergy at the UFZ and Head of the Bioenergy Systems Division at the DBFZ.

The Forschungsstelle Kommunale Energiewirtschaft (FKE) was founded in 2007 as a joint initiative of Stadtwerke Leipzig GmbH and Verbundnetz Gas AG at the Institute for Infrastructure and Resource Management.

The Chair of Energy Management and Sustainability was established in 2008 by the Stifterverband and Vattenfall Europe GmbH. The holder of the professorship is Prof. Dr. Thomas Bruckner.

The Chair of Energy Management and Sustainability was established in 2008 by Vattenfall Europe GmbH and the Stifterverband. The holder of the professorship is Prof. Dr. Thomas Bruckner.

The Forschungsstelle Kommunale Energiewirtschaft (FKE) was founded in 2007 as a joint initiative of Verbundnetz Gas AG and Stadtwerke Leipzig GmbH at the Institute for Infrastructure and Resource Management.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Institutsgebäude
Blick auf den Eingang der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät. Foto: Christian Hüller

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2005 widmet sich das IIRM in Forschung und Lehre insbesondere dem nachhaltigen Planen und Betreiben technischer Infrastruktursysteme zur Bereitstellung von Energie-, Wasser-, Abwasser- und Abfalldienstleistungen. Spezielle Themen sind die Wechselwirkungen der Infrastrukturbereitstellung mit wirtschaftlichen und demographischen Entwicklungen, die Entwicklung von Planungs- und Bewirtschaftungsinstrumenten sowie die Technologieentwicklung in ausgewählten Bereichen. Ein weiteres Thema ist die nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung von Ressourcen wie Wasser, Boden, Fläche und Energie in unterschiedlichen institutionellen Kontexten. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf der Wirksamkeit und der Effizienz von Bewirtschaftungsinstitutionen und von spezifischen Managementinstrumenten auf staatlicher, kommunaler oder betrieblicher Ebene.

Ein Rapsfeld in voller Blüte. Foto: COLOURBOX
Ein Rapsfeld in voller Blüte. Foto: COLOURBOX

Die Professur Biodiversitätsökonomik arbeitet daran, wissenschaftliche Grundlagen bereitzustellen, die helfen, Mensch-Natur-Beziehungen nachhaltig zu gestalten. Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die nachhaltige Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen (z. B. marine Fischbestände, Weideland, Wälder) und der Schutz der Artenvielfalt von regionaler bis zu globaler Ebene. Zum Beispiel untersuchen wir, wie ökonomische Anreize das Verhalten der Menschen gegenüber der Natur bestimmen. Außerdem erforschen wir, was notwendig ist, um Nachhaltigkeit – im Sinne von Gerechtigkeit in Mensch-Natur-Beziehungen – herzustellen. Dazu gehört auch die Frage, wie ökonomische Politikinstrumente zu diesem Ziel beitragen könnten. Unsere methodische Expertise liegt in quantitativer ökologisch-ökonomischer Modellierung, dynamischer Optimierung, Statistik, ökonomischen Experimenten und konzeptioneller Modellierung, außerdem nutzen wir Methoden aus der Spieltheorie und Kapitaltheorie. Unsere Forschungsgruppe ist international weit vernetzt und arbeitet interdisziplinär mit Forschenden aus Gesellschafts-, Geistes- und Naturwissenschaften zusammen.

MEHR ERFAHREN

Einzelne Rapsblüten. Foto: COLOURBOX
Einzelne Rapsblüten. Foto: COLOURBOX

Im Fokus der Professur Bioenergiesysteme stehen Konzepte, Technologien und Managementsysteme für die Lenkung biogener Stoff- und Energiesysteme. Widersprüchliche Ziele, die mit dem Einsatz von Biomasse verbunden werden, wie auch unterschiedliche Effizienzaspekte (z.B. Flächen, Klimagaseinsparung, Energiebereitstellung, Wertschöpfung etc.) erfordern integrierte Managementsysteme, die auf unterschiedlichen Skalen, von betrieblich bis global, implementiert werden können. Entsprechend liegt der Schwerpunkt der Forschungen in der Verbindung der fragmentarisch vorhandenen Informationen entlang der Prozessketten hin zur Entwicklung integrierter Managementsysteme für die Nutzung von Biomasse im Kontext der erneuerbaren Ressourcen.
Das Forschungsprogramm der Professur umfasst vor diesem Hintergrund Methoden zur Einordnung biogener Stoff- und Energieströme (Systemverständnis) und die Entwicklung von Ansätzen für ihre effiziente Lenkung unter Berück-sichtigung der technischen, ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Aspekte der relevanten Prozessketten (Systemgestaltung). Diese Fragestellungen werden insbesondere mit Hilfe der Analyse von technischen Systemen (hinsichtlich Reife, Kostenreduktionspotenzial sowie notwendigen Randbedingungen zur erfolgreichen Implementierung) und unter Verwendung von Methoden der produktbezogenen Bewertung (LCA) und Stoffstromanalyse erforscht.

Zentrale Forschungsthemen:

  • Biomassepotenziale und Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung
  • Märkte und Nutzung biogener Energieträger
  • Regionale Nutzungskonzepte für nachwachsende Rohstoffe
  • Umweltwirkungen erneuerbarer Energien
  • Erweiterte Methoden der Life Cycle Analysis und Stoffstrombewertung
  • Systemintegration und Zusammenspiel erneuerbarer Energien in weitgehend auf erneuerbaren Energien basierten Versorgungssystemen
  • Szenarienanalysen für regenerative Rohstoffe und Energieträger

MEHR ERFAHREN

Rauchender Schlot und rotierende Windkraftanlage zueinander gewendet vor blauem Himmel.
Alte Energiewelt, neue Energiewelt - wie kann die Energiewende gelingen? Foto: Colourbox

Im Zentrum der Forschungsaktivitäten der Professur für Energiemanagement und Nachhaltigkeit steht die integrative Analyse der ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Aspekte, die auf betrieblicher, kommunaler, nationaler, europäischer und/oder globaler Ebene mit der Bereitstellung von Energiedienstleistungen verbunden sind. Die in der Regel quantitative Analyse der angesprochenen Forschungsfragen erfolgt unter Verwendung von innovativen Energiesystemmodellen, energiewirtschaftlichen Marktmodellen, agentenbasierten Modellen und Integrated-Assessment-Modellen, die am Lehrstuhl entwickelt und in einer Vielzahl von Projekten erfolgreich zur Beratung energiewirtschaftlicher sowie umweltpolitischer Entscheidungsträger eingesetzt wurden.

Zentrale Forschungsthemen:

  • Techno-ökonomische Optimierung dezentraler Energiesysteme, virtueller Kraftwerke und Smart Grids
  • Integration erneuerbarer Energien in bestehende und zukünftige Energiesysteme unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von Energiespeichern, Power-to-X (z.B. Power-to-Heat) und Lastmanagementmaßnahmen (Demand Response)
  • Betriebswirtschaftliche Bewertung energiebezogener Geschäftsmodelle (im Kontext sich verändernder energiewirtschaftlicher Randbedingungen)
  • Agentenbasierte Modellierung urbaner Energiesysteme
  • Modellierung und volkswirtschaftliche Analyse der Entwicklung europäischer Energiemärkte
  • Berechnung zukünftiger Spotmarkt- und Regelenergiepreise im europäischen Strommarkt (unter Heranziehung von Fundamentalmodellen)
  • Integrierte Bewertung und Optimierung globaler Klimaschutzstrategien (mit Hilfe von sog. „Integrated Assessment“-Modellen)
  • Analyse und Design energie- und klimapolitischer Instrumente (inkl. Politikfolgenabschätzung)

MEHR ERFAHREN

Blick über Leipzig bei Nacht. Foto: Fotolia

Forschungsprogramm der Professur für VWL, insbesondere Institutionenökonomische Umweltforschung, ist die Analyse umweltbezogener Fragestellungen mit Hilfe von Ansätzen der Neuen Institutionenökonomik, insbesondere der Transaktionskostenökonomik, der Theorie des institutionellen Wandels, der Vertrags- und Agency-Theorie, dem Property Rights Approach, der Ökonomischen Analyse des Rechts, der Politik und der Bürokratie oder der Informationsökonomik. Daneben werden auch finanzwissenschaftliche und allgemeine umweltökonomische Methoden neben Verfahren der agentenbasierten Modellierung eingesetzt. Es werden anwendungsorientierte Fragen der internationalen Wasserwirtschaft, umweltbezogene Schnittstellenprobleme in den Sektoren Energie, Verkehr und Infrastruktur sowie Klimawandelfragen behandelt. Besondere Schwerpunkte liegen bei Institutionen und Instrumenten der Umweltpolitik sowie in der ökologisch-ökonomischen Modellierung.

Zentrale Forschungsthemen:

  • Ökonomie des Klimawandels, insbesondere der Klimaanpassung
  • Ökonomische Aspekte der Energiewende und der Bioökonomie, insbeson-dere der Biomassenutzung
  • Abgaben und Preise für Wassernutzungen
  • Agentenbasierte Modellierung von Landnutzung und Infrastruktursystemen
  • Finanzierung von Verkehrsinfrastruktur
  • Gebühren- und Entgeltlösungen für die kommunale Ver- und Entsorgung (Wasser, Abwasser, Abfall, andere Bereiche)

MEHR ERFAHREN

 

Weltkugel in einer Hand. Foto: COLOURBOX
Weltkugel in einer Hand. Foto: COLOURBOX

Die Professur für Umwelttechnik und Umweltmanagement widmet sich den Ressourcen Wasser, Abfall und Boden, dem nachhaltigen und sicheren Betrieb von Leitungssystemen und dem Umweltmanagement in Einzelunternehmen und Unternehmensnetzwerken. Grundlegend ist ein interdisziplinärer Ansatz, der technische und wirtschaftliche Aspekte miteinander verknüpft. Für die Bearbeitung der Forschungsthemen werden je nach Fragestellung Ansätze aus verschiedenen Theoriefeldern herangezogen. Zum Einsatz kommen Elemente sozialwissenschaftlicher Ansätze wie der Institutionenanalyse, betriebswirtschaftlicher Ansätze wie der Entscheidungstheorie, übergreifender Ansätze wie der Systemtheorie sowie technologische Innovationsmodelle.

Zentrale Forschungsthemen:

  • Kostenfaktoren und Bewertung kommunaler Wasser-, Abwasser- und Abfallinfrastruktur
  • Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken kommunaler Umweltinfrastruktur
  • Change Management für kommunale Umweltinfrastruktur in Bezug auf Klima, Demografie, Stadtumbau und wirtschaftlichen Strukturwandel
  • Entwicklungspfade dezentraler Technologien sowie Einbettung in bestehende Rahmenbedingungen
  • Umweltrisiken und Sicherheit technischer Anlagen und Betriebsweisen
  • Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement in Netzwerken

MEHR ERFAHREN

Windräder in der Landschaft. Foto: MultiplEE

Im Mittelpunkt unserer Forschung steht die ökonomische Analyse der Energiewendepolitik auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Unsere Forschungsaktivitäten sind dabei unter anderem eingebettet in die Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe MultiplEE.

Der Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien im Stromsektor ist essentiell, um die deutschen Klimaschutzziele zu erreichen und die Energiewende voranzubringen. Der Umbau des Stromsystems bringt jedoch auch (neue) Herausforderungen mit sich. Wir untersuchen, wie der Ausbau von erneuerbaren Energien und insbesondere Windenergie möglichst umweltverträglich mit Rücksicht auf Mensch, Natur und Landschaft gestaltet werden kann.

MEHR ERFAHREN

Studiengänge

Institutsgebäude
Hand zeigt mit einem Kugelschreiber auf eine Grafik
Hochspannungsleitung. Foto: COLOURBOX
Das Wort „sustainable“ in Kreideschrift auf Tafel

Stifter

Die Professur für Bioenergiesysteme stiftete das Deutsche Biomasseforschungszentrum (DBFZ) zusammen mit dem Helmholz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung - UFZ. Inhaberin der Professur ist Prof. Dr.-Ing. Daniela Thrän, die zeitgleich Leiterin der Abteilung Bioenergiesysteme am DBFZ sowie Leiterin des Departements Bioenergie am UFZ ist.

Die Professur für Umwelttechnik in der Wasserwirtschaft und Umweltmanagement in kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen wurde von der Deutschen Bundesstiftung Umwelt (DBU) gestiftet. Der erste Inhaber war 2001 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Robert Holländer, der im März 2019 emeritiert wurde. Die Professur wird wieder ausgeschrieben.

Die Professur für Biodiverstätsökonomik wurde von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) in Kooperation mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Integrative Biodiversitätsforschung (iDiv) und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung – UFZ realisiert. Prof. Dr. Martin Quaas ist Inhaber der Professur und zeitgleich Forschungsgruppenleiter am iDiv.

Die Professur für Biodiverstätsökonomik wurde vom Deutschen Zentrum für Integrative Biodiversitätsforschung (iDiv) in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) geschaffen. Prof. Dr. Martin Quaas ist Inhaber der Professur und zeitgleich Forschungsgruppenleiter am iDiv.

Die erste, vom Helmholz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung - UFZ gestiftete Professur war die Professur für VWL, insbesondere Institutionenökonomische Umweltforschung, deren Inhaber, Prof. Dr. Erik Gawel zeitgleich Leiter des Departements Ökonomie am UFZ ist.

 

Die Professur für Bioenergiesysteme stiftete das Helmholz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung - UFZ zusammen mit dem Deutschen Biomasseforschungszentrum (DBFZ). Inhaberin der Professur ist Prof. Dr.-Ing. Daniela Thrän, die zeitgleich Leiterin des Departements Bioenergie am UFZ sowie Leiterin der Abteilung Bioenergiesysteme am DBFZ ist.

Die Forschungsstelle Kommunale Energiewirtschaft (FKE) wurde im Jahr 2007 als gemeinsame Initiative der Stadtwerke Leipzig GmbH und der Verbundnetz Gas AG am Institut für Infrastruktur und Ressourcenmanagement gegründet.

Die Professur Energiemanagement und Nachhaltigkeit wurde 2008 durch den Stifterverband der Deutschen Wirtschaft und die Vattenfall Europe GmbH ins Leben gerufen. Inhaber der Professur ist Prof. Dr. Thomas Bruckner.

Die Professur Energiemanagement und Nachhaltigkeit wurde 2008 durch die Vattenfall Europe GmbH und den Stifterverband der Deutschen Wirtschaft ins Leben gerufen. Inhaber der Professur ist Prof. Dr. Thomas Bruckner.

Die Forschungsstelle Kommunale Energiewirtschaft (FKE) wurde im Jahr 2007 als gemeinsame Initiative der Verbundnetz Gas AG und der Stadtwerke Leipzig GmbH am Institut für Infrastruktur und Ressourcenmanagement gegründet.